Give me a vision of the cross

Found this in the archives…written at a very low time in my life.

Reading of this poem here.

Give me a vision of the cross
for there my life is found,
Give me a vision of the cross
that I may live on solid ground.

Give me a vision of the cross
when anger raises it’s ugly head,
Give me a vision of the cross
to stop the thing I might have said.

Give me a vision of the cross
when I seek to have my way,
Give me a vision of the cross
when my flesh tries to hold sway.

Give me a vision of the cross
so Your life I may bring,
Give me a vision of the cross
when self interest brings it’s sting.

Give me a vision of the cross
so Your life can flow through me,
Give me a vision of the cross
so it’s You, not me they see.

Give me a vision of the cross
so I can say just like your Son,
In the pressure of Gethsemane
not my will, but Yours be done.

Leave a Reply

